As an admin, it is possible to transfer the ownership of one or more views from one user to another. You may want to do this, for example, when one business process gets a different owner or the current owner of several views gets a different role or leaves your organization.
To access this feature, go to Admin > Views.
You can search for a view by using the search bar or sorting by two options: sort by owners or sort by views.
Sort by owners
It is also possible to transfer multiple views from one user to another user in one go.
For this, you need to select the tab Show per owner > Active users. This selection shows only the users that own view(s).
If you click on a user, a screen opens that shows you all the views owned by this user and with whom they are shared. The shared column will show you a maximum of three users initially. You can see any additional users this view is shared with by clicking the arrow:
To transfer all or more views at once, select the views you want to transfer to another user by checking the box to the left of the view.
In the screenshot below, we selected all views for transfer by clicking the checkbox in the title bar (next to Name).
The functionality can be accessed in two ways:
- Click the Transfer ownership button or
- Click the three-dot menu next to one of the selected views and click Transfer View
From the drop-down menu, select one user to be the new owner of the selected views.
After you click Transfer, the selected views will be transferred.
If one of the selected views is currently being edited, you will get an error message and you won't be able to transfer that view. To prevent this, make sure that nobody is working on any of the views you want to transfer.
Sort by views
To transfer ownership of a single view, use Show per view.
Here the views are sorted by name, or you can sort them by status or type. If you click on a view, it will open a screen where you can see who the owner of the view is and with whom it is shared. Here you can also transfer the ownership for this particular view either by clicking the Transfer View button.